Maine 15 Hour 2017 NEC Review Chapters 1-4, 6 & 8

  • 15 Hour Course
  • 4.5
    91 Reviews
  • $149.00

This 15 hour 2017 NEC course starts with an overview to the updates and changes to the code. We will go over code-wide changes, as well as the new articles for 2017, and give a quick primer on how the code is organized so electricians can easily use it.

Next up we will explain Articles 100 and 110, which explain definitions used in the code and the different requirements for electrical installations, such as how to list (Product Certification) of Equipment, and arc-flash hazard warnings.

In Chapter 2: Wiring and Protection we will go over new code sections including updates to overcurrent protection, and dwelling unit receptacle outlets for basements, garages, and accessory buildings, and feeders with certain exceptions.

The next section is Chapter 3: Wiring Methods and Materials where we’ll cover the updates including various minimum requirements for wiring, cabinets, cutout boxes, and meter socket enclosures, and a discussion to the changes regarding cable types.

In Chapter 4: Equipment for General Use we will explain changes to switch codes, appliances, such as vending machines, and important info for fixed outdoor electric deicing and snow-melting equipment.

Under Chapter 6: Special Equipment, we will address code changes for electric signs and outline lighting, Information Technology (IT) equipment, and Solar Photovoltaic (PV) systems.

The final section of the course covers Chapter 8: Communication Systems, and Chapter 9: Tables and Informative Annexes. In this section we’ll look at the updates for the grounding of radio and tv equipment, and then tackle the practical aspect of the updates to the tables and annexes, tools that an electrician uses regularly, such as updates to continuous load calculations.

As with all of our courses, this one may be completed at your own pace!

  • Approved By: Maine Electricians' Examining Board

Instructor Bio

Chuck Price Profile Image

Charles "Chuck" Price is At Your Pace Online's Subject Matter Expert for the Electrical Trade. He started out in grocery management at the age of 18 and after 5 years decided to venture into the electrical trade in 1996. He served his apprenticeship and quickly became a foreman running work. He gained experience in many facets of the trade such as working on traffic signals, hospitals and healthcare buildings, waste water treatment plants, and many commercial applications including telecommunications data centers. He currently is working for the area's largest healthcare system.
One of his passions is working with kids - and that starts with his own two boys! He has coached youth football and basketball at several levels and is part of a men's organization that raises money for the youth as well. He is a leader in the local 4-H group, helping kids learn about animal science. All in all, Chuck focuses on being the best father he can be, while maintaining a firm grasp on the ever-changing electrical industry.

Course Reviews

4.5
91 Reviews
  • October 31st, 2019 -

  • October 10th, 2019 -

    Very informative, and very convenient.

  • April 3rd, 2019 -

    This was a great course, Highly recommend it.

  • April 3rd, 2019 -

    Very informative

  • March 31st, 2019 -

    Excellent

  • December 18th, 2018 -

    Excellent

  • November 4th, 2018 -

    Thank you for providing an accessible online option for license renewal.

  • October 21st, 2018 -

    I enjoyed the humor that was woven within the material. It often made dry subject matter more engaging and easier to digest. Thank you.

  • October 11th, 2018 -

    Great course! The format was wonderful. I would recommend it to anyone

  • July 2nd, 2018 -

    The course was easy to follow and well laid out

  • June 25th, 2018 -

    Good content well explained, Could be easier to navigate and go back to refer to earlier parts of the course.

  • May 22nd, 2018 -

    Very good course layout and easy to use. Would use again. Thanks!

  • March 19th, 2018 -

    Great format

  • January 31st, 2018 -

    VERY INFORMATIVE AND EASY TO FOLLOW! WOULD RECOMMEND TO ANYONE NEEDING AN UPDATE!

  • January 23rd, 2018 -

    One of the better online courses I have taken

  • December 24th, 2017 -

    This is the first on-line 15hr refresher course that I have taken, and I really enjoyed it. I learned a lot. Thanks

  • October 27th, 2017 -

    Very convenient and informative

  • September 23rd, 2017 -

    I Thought the course was presented very professionally

  • August 17th, 2017 -

    Really enjoyed the format and content of this update course. Have used other vendors in the past and this has been the best one. Thanks

  • July 28th, 2018 -

    Enjoyed taking your course.

  • February 9th, 2018 -

    I think there was a little too much explanation on the code changes. I think a more practical approach that shows direct field application would be better. Maybe more vidoes?

  • January 30th, 2018 -

    Thank You

  • January 12th, 2018 -

    Not today

  • December 18th, 2017 -

    This is supposed to be a 15hr. course. It took me 26 hrs. It could be arranged better, made easier to go back and fourth from page to page without having to start over .

  • March 8th, 2019 -

    Most of the course covers more then my license premits to do.

  • June 25th, 2018 -

    It would be more beneficial for the questions to be in the code book since that is what would be used in the field instead of the explanation of the change

  • November 11th, 2019 -

  • August 30th, 2019 -

  • August 30th, 2019 -

  • June 16th, 2019 -

  • April 29th, 2019 -

  • April 3rd, 2019 -

  • February 25th, 2019 -

  • February 11th, 2019 -

  • January 21st, 2019 -

  • January 19th, 2019 -

  • December 22nd, 2018 -

  • November 25th, 2018 -

  • October 29th, 2018 -

  • August 30th, 2018 -

  • August 19th, 2018 -

  • August 18th, 2018 -

  • July 26th, 2018 -

  • June 21st, 2018 -

  • May 24th, 2018 -

  • May 20th, 2018 -

  • May 11th, 2018 -

  • March 25th, 2018 -

  • March 15th, 2018 -

  • February 9th, 2018 -

  • January 31st, 2018 -

  • January 19th, 2018 -

  • January 19th, 2018 -

  • December 27th, 2017 -

  • December 12th, 2017 -

  • November 26th, 2017 -

  • November 8th, 2017 -

  • October 17th, 2017 -

  • September 10th, 2017 -

  • September 9th, 2017 -

  • July 31st, 2017 -

  • October 16th, 2019 -

  • July 13th, 2019 -

  • May 11th, 2019 -

  • April 23rd, 2019 -

  • February 24th, 2019 -

  • December 30th, 2018 -

  • December 2nd, 2018 -

  • November 20th, 2018 -

  • October 31st, 2018 -

  • May 10th, 2018 -

  • April 27th, 2018 -

  • March 27th, 2018 -

  • March 5th, 2018 -

  • February 26th, 2018 -

  • January 11th, 2018 -

    good

  • January 10th, 2018 -

  • December 11th, 2017 -

  • November 30th, 2017 -

  • October 29th, 2017 -

  • October 29th, 2017 -

  • October 18th, 2017 -

  • September 12th, 2017 -

  • August 10th, 2017 -

  • October 31st, 2018 -

  • October 15th, 2018 -

  • April 19th, 2018 -

  • March 3rd, 2018 -

  • March 1st, 2018 -

  • October 26th, 2019 -

  • May 29th, 2018 -