Texas HVAC Continuing Education
Our continuing education courses are approved by the Texas Department of Licensing Regulation to meet your CE requirements for your HVAC license renewal (TDLR Approved Provider #1883).
Take the continuing education to renew your TX HVAC license today. All of our courses can be completed At Your Pace Online to help you meet the state's requirements to maintain your license. Once you finish your class you will have an official certificate of completion to save for your records, and we will report your course completion to the state for you.
TX 8-Hour Package for ACR Contractors
This 8-hour package will cover legal and industry updates as well as a comprehensive survey of the significant changes made to the 2018 IMC.
TX 2018 IMC Update
This course will review and highlight essential code requirements of chapters 1 through 12 in the 2018 International Mechanical Code. Included in the review will be specific examples of the life safety systems relating to heating, ventilation, air conditioning and exhaust systems. Also included are specific examples of the life safety systems relating to heating, ventilation, air conditioning, duct work, refrigeration, specific appliances, solar systems, chimneys and venting. Changes from the previous version of the IMC will be highlighted in the question commentary where appropriate.
2021 IMC Update Part 1
This course reviews and highlights essential Code requirements of the first five chapters of the International Mechanical Code (IMC). Included in the review are specific examples of the life safety systems relating to heating, ventilation, air conditioning, and exhaust systems. Changes from the previous version of the IMC are identified. This course has no prerequisites.
Residential HVAC System Replacements
This course will review and highlight essential HVAC installation challenges with replacement systems. Included in the review will be specific examples of challenges related to heating, ventilation, air conditioning and exhaust systems, and best practices to overcome those challenges. This course will primarily concentrate on residential systems.
Texas ACR Laws and Rules
This course will cover important and relevant sections of Texas ACR Administrative Rules, Chapter 75, and the Texas ACR Contractor Laws, Chapter 1302.
Texas HVAC Contractor Continuing Education Requirements
If you’re licensed to perform air conditioning and refrigeration (ACR) work in the state of Texas, you probably know that you need to renew your license annually. But that means doing more than just completing the online renewal application and paying the $65 fee. The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) also requires you to get some continuing education (CE) hours each year.
They have some pretty specific requirements around the CE hours you need, too. Here’s what you need to know to ensure you get the right number and type of CE hours to renew your Texas air conditioning and refrigeration license.
How many CE hours ACR contractors need
The TDLR requires all licensed ACR contractors to complete eight hours of continuing education each year.
To make sure you have ample time to get your hours done by the date your renewal is due, they recommend starting your renewal process (which basically means starting your CE hours) a month or two before your license would expire.
Note: this requirement only applies to ACR contractors. If you’re a certified or registered ACR technician, you don’t need CE. But you do need to submit your renewal and pay the renewal fee each year.
Finding qualifying CE
The TDLR is pretty specific about which hours can count toward the eight you need. Basically, there are two main things you need to look for:
A TDLR-approved provider
You need to take your hours from an education provider that has the green light from the TDLR or they won’t count. To make sure you’re not wasting your time, look for approval info from the state for any provider you’re considering. As an example, you can scroll to the bottom of this page to see our approval letter with the TDLR’s seal.
Fortunately, the TDLR approves online education providers along with in-person schools. That means you can take your ACR CE online. Many online CE providers (including TradesmanCE.com) offer their courses on-demand so you can get hours done whenever you’ve got time to spare.
Your CE needs to focus on ACR work. Specifically, each year, you need at least one hour on the Texas laws and rules that regulate ACR contractors.
Your remaining seven hours can focus on any of the following:
- Texas Occupations Code Chapter 1302: Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Contractors
- Title 16, Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 75: Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Administrative Rules
- The International Mechanical Code (IMC), the Uniform Mechanical Code (UMC), or other applicable codes
- Business practices
- Technical requirements
If you choose a TDLR-approved education provider, their courses should automatically cover the above topics. This is an eight-hour course that will tick all of these boxes. But if you take your hours from multiple providers, make sure at least one of your hours is about Texas ACR laws and rules.
Reporting CE to the TDLR
In order to be eligible for license renewal, the TDLR needs to know that you’ve got your eight hours finished. It’s your CE provider’s responsibility to report any hours you finish to the state. But if your hours aren’t showing up (you can check your record here) within a couple of weeks, you can file a complaint.
When you finish a course, your CE provider should also issue you a certificate of completion. Hold onto that for at least a year because the TDLR can ask you for a copy of it.