Florida HVAC Continuing Education
Our Florida contractor continuing education courses are approved by the state to satisfy all of your continuing education requirements (Provider ID #0005624; CILB CE Provider License #PVD1291).
Take the continuing education to renew your FL HVAC license today. All of our courses can be completed At Your Pace Online to help you meet the state's requirements to maintain your license. Once you finish your class, you will get an official certificate of completion to save for your records, and we will report your course completion to the state for you.
FL 2018 IMC Update
This Florida continuing education course will review and highlight essential code requirements of chapters 1 through 12 in the 2018 International Mechanical Code. Included in the review will be specific examples of the life safety systems relating to heating, ventilation, air conditioning and exhaust systems. Also included are specific examples of the life safety systems relating to heating, ventilation, air conditioning, duct work, refrigeration, specific appliances, solar systems, chimneys and venting. Changes from the previous version of the IMC will be highlighted in the question commentary where appropriate.
Florida 14 Hour HVAC Contractor Package
This 14 hour course is specifically designed to meet the continuing education requirements for Florida Contractors to renew their license.
This course includes:
- 2020 Florida Advanced Building Code Update (1 Hr ADV)
- Advanced Florida Business Practices: Liens (1 Hr Business Practices)
- Regulations Governing Contractors (1 Hr Laws & Rules)
- Regulations Governing Wind Mitigation (1 Hr Wind Mitigation)
- Construction Safety (3 Hrs Workplace Safety)
- Workers' Compensation (1 Hr Workers' Compensation)
- The Basics of Masonry (2 Hr General)
- Drywall Fundamentals (1 Hr General)
- Building the Exterior Shell (3 Hrs General)
This course meets all of your requirements (ADV, BSP, L&R, WMM, WC & WPS)
Florida 7hr 1st time CE for HVAC Contractors
This course is made up of 7 hours of content that HVAC contractors in Florida can use to complete the education requirements for the first time renewal of a license. This course covers a number of topics including 2020 Florida building code, state regulation of contractors, wind mitigation, and construction safety.
FL 2021 IMC Update Part 1
This course for Florida HVAC contractors reviews and highlights essential Code requirements of the first five chapters of the International Mechanical Code (IMC). Included in the review are specific examples of the life safety systems relating to heating, ventilation, air conditioning, and exhaust systems. Changes from the previous version of the IMC are identified. This course has no prerequisites.
FL 2021 IMC Update Part 2
This FL-approved course covers updates found in Sections 6-15 of the 2021 International Mechanical Code. Specific topics include duct systems, combustion air systems, chimneys and vents, fireplaces and solid fuel-burning equipment, boilers and water heaters, refrigeration systems, hydronic and fuel oil piping, and solar thermal systems.
FL Electrical Safety (NFPA 70E 2021)
This safety course is aimed at Florida HVAC technicians exposed to electrical hazards in order to gain knowledge needed to apply safety requirements from the NFPA 70E. We start by detailing the arrangement, scope, and purpose of the document, as well as define common terms. This course has no prerequisites.
Florida 1 Hour 2020 Advanced Building Code
This 1 hour class on the 7th Edition of the Florida Building Code-Residential covers every significant change from the model code as selected by the Building Commission in their Analysis of Changes for the 7th Edition (2020). It fulfills the one hour of advanced building code needed to renew a license.
FL Residential HVAC System Replacements
This trade-specific course for Florida will review and highlight essential HVAC installation challenges with replacement systems. Included in the review will be specific examples of challenges related to heating, ventilation, air conditioning and exhaust systems, and best practices to overcome those challenges. This course will primarily concentrate on residential systems.
CE Requirements to Renew a FL HVAC License
- Registered Mechanical Contractors must renew by August 31st of every odd-numbered year
- Certified Mechanical Contractors must renew by August 31st of even-numbered years.
- The Florida Construction Industry Licensing Board requires contractors to obtain 14 total hours of continuing education every two years.
- 1 hour on each of the following topics must be completed in order to renew:
- Workplace Safety (WPS)
- Workers' Compensation (WC)
- Business Practices (BSP)
- Advanced Building Code (ADV)
- Laws and Rules (L&R)
- The remaining 9 hours are considered 'General (HI)' and can cover any of the listed topics above.
- If your license was issued more than 1 year, but less than 2 years, prior to August 31st of the renewal year, you owe 7 hours of general credits of continuing education.
- If your license was issued less than 12 months prior to August 31st of the renewal years, you do not owe any continuing education.