TradesmanCE.com

Texas Electrical Continuing Education

Our Texas continuing education courses are approved by the TDLR to meet your electrical CE requirements (TDLR Approved Provider #1883).

Take the continuing education to renew your TX electricians license today. All of our courses can be completed At Your Pace Online to help you meet the state's requirements to maintain your license. Once you finish your course, we provide an official certificate of completion for your records. Learn more about our state reporting service here.

$39 TOP SELLER

TX 2023 NEC Changes Part 1

clock hour icon 4h course

This online course reviews the first 25 of the 75 most important changes to the 2023 National Electrical Code. Changes from Section 100 through 210.70 will be covered. The course also covers safety per the 2021 NFPA 70E and Texas laws and rules per Chapters 73 and 1305.

4.6 210 Reviews
$39

TX 2023 NEC Changes Part 3

clock hour icon 4h course

This online course reviews the last 25 of the 75 most important changes to the 2023 National Electrical Code. Changes from Section 517.22 through Annex C will be covered. The course also covers safety per the 2021 NFPA 70E and Texas laws and rules per Chapters 73 and 1305.

4.5 19 Reviews
$39

TX 2023 NEC Changes Part 2

clock hour icon 4h course

This online 2023 NEC course for Texas reviews the middle 25 of the 75 most important changes to the 2023 National Electrical Code. Changes from Section 210.70 through 517.20 will be covered. The course also covers safety per the 2021 NFPA 70E and Texas laws and rules per Chapters 73 and 1305.

4.5 25 Reviews
$39

TX Master the 2023 NEC (Video)

clock hour icon 4h course

This 4-hour video course is approved for any Texas electrician. The course covers the required NEC, safety, and laws and regulations topics. Important parts of the 2023 NEC are covered in addition to safety per the 2024 NFPA 70E and Texas laws and rules per Chapters 73 and 1305.

Texas Electrical Continuing Education and Renewal Process

Since Texas electricians need to renew their licenses annually, it’s a process you want to stay on top of. While other states give electrical licensees several years between renewals, you need to make sure you complete yours each year.

What, exactly, does that entail? If you’re wondering how to renew an electrical license in Texas, you’ve come to the right place. Here’s the how-to for apprentices, journeymen, masters, and sign electricians. 

How to renew my apprentice electrician license

Each year, your license expires on the date it was initially issued. To prevent that, you need to do three things for apprentice electrician license renewal:

  1. Complete your electrician continuing education. You need four hours during each renewal cycle. Fortunately, you can take these hours from a TDLR-approved provider, like us, meaning you can do them from your computer, phone, or tablet whenever it’s convenient for you. 
  2. Complete the online renewal application. Here’s the link to the webpage to start the process. You’ll need your license number and social security number to log in. 
  3. Pay the renewal fee.

If you have an electrical sign apprentice license, the process is the same.

How to renew my journeyman electrician license

You might think that the journeyman electrician license renewal process would be more involved because of the higher level of licensure. Actually, though, the TDLR pretty much requires the same amount of work from you. To renew each year, you need to:

  • Get 4 electrician continuing education hours. Again, you can take these online and at your own pace. If you choose online CE, just make sure it’s from a TDLR-approved provider.
  • Send in your online renewal application. Here’s your link to start the process. You’ll need your social security and license number. 
  • Pay the renewal fee.

If you’re a journeyman sign, industrial, or lineman electrician, you need the same CE hours and will pay the same fee.

Master electrician license renewal

Complete your 4 hours of continuing education. Like all other electrical licensees, you need four hours of CE each year. You can take the hours online to knock them out as easily as possible.

  1. Complete your 4 hours of continuing education. Like all other electrical licensees, you need four hours of CE each year. You can take the hours online to knock them out as easily as possible.
  2. Send in the renewal application. Start the online renewal process here.  
  3. Pay the renewal fee.

Master sign electricians, you also need four CE hours and will have the same master license fee for renewal.

For business license renewals, check out this TDLR page on electrical contractor license renewal. 

State of Texas Electrical License Renewal Deadline

  • Electricians are required to renew their licenses by the license expiration date every year.