Utah 16 Hour 2017 NEC Review

$129.00

16 Hour Course

Course ID: 12305

Approved By: Utah DOPL

4.6 284 Reviews

Add to Cart (877) 724-6150

This 16-hour course will satisfy your continuing education requirements to continue practicing as an electrician in Utah. The course will begin with an overview of Article 90, the code-wide changes to the NEC in 2017, and the new articles you’ll want to familiarize yourself with.

After that, we’ll dive into Chapter 1, which provides the foundational principles for the subsequent chapters. Chapters 2, 3, and 4 cover the planning, building, and use of electrical systems.

In Chapter 2 we’ll discuss wiring and protection practices for branch circuits, feeders, surge protection, ground connections, and more. Chapter 3 looks at the methods and materials that are appropriate to employ when wiring systems, to ensure a safe and reliable system is being built. Chapter 4 explains how to safely and effectively devices and systems according to the purpose of a specific electrical design.

Chapter 5 addresses special occupations in electrical work, covering some of the less common situations you’ll encounter, and is likely the most complex chapter in the NEC. These special occupations can involve hazardous substances or situations.

Finally, we’ll look at Chapter 7 of the NEC, which covers special conditions where electrical systems must be able to operate under duress, or where typical systems cannot operate. This includes the topics of optical fibers and raceways, special systems for remote-control operations, and fire-alarm systems.

  • Changes to the 2017 NEC
    • Introduction to the 2017 NEC [6 Activities]
      • 01. Introduction to the Course: Changes to the 2017 National Electrical Code (Video)
      • 02. New Review Process for the NEC (Video)
      • 03. Article 90 Introduction
      • 04. Code-Wide Changes
      • 05. New Articles for 2017
      • 06. How the NEC is Organized & Conclusion to Lesson 1 (Video)
    • Chapter 1 [4 Activities]
      • 01. Introduction to Chapter 1 (Video)
      • 02. Article 100 – Definitions
      • 03. Article 110 – Requirements for Electrical Installations
      • 04. End of Chapter 1 (Video)
    • Chapter 2 [10 Activities]
      • 01. Chapter 2 Wiring and Protection – Introduction (Video)
      • 02. Chapter Two – Wiring and Protection
      • 03. Chapter Two – Wiring and Protection
      • 04. Chapter Two – Wiring and Protection
      • 05. Chapter Two – Wiring and Protection
      • 06. Articles 240 & 250 (Video)
      • 07. Chapter Two – Wiring and Protection
      • 08. Chapter Two – Wiring and Protection
      • 09. Chapter Two – Wiring and Protection
      • 10. End of Lesson on Chapter 2 (Video)
    • Chapter 3 [7 Activities]
      • 01. Chapter 3 Wiring Methods and Materials – Introduction (Video)
      • 02. Chapter Three – Wiring Methods and Materials
      • 03. Chapter Three – Wiring Methods and Materials
      • 04. Articles 320 through 366 (Video)
      • 05. Chapter Three – Wiring Methods and Materials
      • 06. Chapter Three – Wiring Methods and Materials
      • 07. End of Lesson on Chapter 3 (Video)
    • Chapter 4 [12 Activities]
      • 01. Chapter 4 Equipment for General Use – Introduction (Video)
      • 02. Chapter Four – Equipment for General Use
      • 03. Chapter Four – Equipment for General Use
      • 04. Chapter Four – Equipment for General Use
      • 05. Chapter Four – Equipment for General Use
      • 06. Articles 422 through 480 (Video)
      • 07. Chapter Four – Equipment for General Use
      • 08. Chapter Four – Equipment for General Use
      • View Additional Activities
        • 09. Chapter Four – Equipment for General Use
        • 10. Chapter Four – Equipment for General Use
        • 11. Chapter Four – Equipment for General Use
        • 12. End of Lesson on Chapter 4 (Video)
    • Chapter 5 [13 Activities]
      • 01. Chapter 5 Special Occupancies – Introduction (Video)
      • 02. Chapter Five – Special Occupancies
      • 03. Chapter Five – Special Occupancies
      • 04. Chapter Five – Special Occupancies
      • 05. Articles 517 through 551 (Video)
      • 06. Chapter Five – Special Occupancies
      • 07. Chapter Five – Special Occupancies
      • 08. Chapter Five – Special Occupancies
      • View Additional Activities
        • 09. Chapter Five – Special Occupancies
        • 10. Articles 555 and 590 (Video)
        • 11. Chapter Five – Special Occupancies
        • 12. Chapter Five – Special Occupancies
        • 13. End of Lesson on Chapter 5 (Video)
    • Chapter 7 [8 Activities]
      • 01. Chapter 7 Special Conditions – Introduction (Video)
      • 02. Chapter Seven – Special Conditions
      • 03. Chapter Seven – Special Conditions
      • 04. Chapter Seven – Special Conditions
      • 05. Articles 725 through 770 (Video)
      • 06. Chapter Seven – Special Conditions
      • 07. Chapter Seven – Special Conditions
      • 08. End of Lesson on Chapter 7 (Video)
  • Course Completion
    • Mandatory Questionnaire
    • Certificate of Completion

Instructor Bio


Chuck Price Profile Image
Charles "Chuck" Price is At Your Pace Online's Subject Matter Expert for the Electrical Trade. He started out in grocery management at the age of 18 and after 5 years decided to venture into the electrical trade in 1996. He served his apprenticeship and quickly became a foreman running work. He gained experience in many facets of the trade such as working on traffic signals, hospitals and healthcare buildings, waste water treatment plants, and many commercial applications including telecommunications data centers. He currently is working for the area's largest healthcare system.
One of his passions is working with kids - and that starts with his own two boys! He has coached youth football and basketball at several levels and is part of a men's organization that raises money for the youth as well. He is a leader in the local 4-H group, helping kids learn about animal science. All in all, Chuck focuses on being the best father he can be, while maintaining a firm grasp on the ever-changing electrical industry.

Course Reviews

November 30th, 2018
I was really happy and satisfied with the CE training and courses

November 29th, 2018
Love it !!!

November 29th, 2018
I loved it. worked great with my schedule. simply perfect.

November 29th, 2018
It was a good course. Very informative.

November 29th, 2018
Good course.

November 28th, 2018
It wasn’t as complicated as I would’ve thought.

November 28th, 2018
would rercomend and take this cource again.

November 28th, 2018
Very informative.

November 28th, 2018
This course was easy to read and the guy in the videos was easily understood. I had a question so I submitted in the question box and someone promptly called with an answer. I would recommend this program to everyone looking for online continuing education. Excellent.

November 27th, 2018
Very convenient

November 27th, 2018
Great course learned a lot more than I thought I would.

November 26th, 2018
very clear easily understood

November 25th, 2018
Awesome!!

November 25th, 2018
Very good. Thought I learned new rules

November 25th, 2018
Informative, without wasting your time.

November 25th, 2018
Awesome course. Thank you!

November 25th, 2018
Nothing

November 25th, 2018
VERY WELL PUT TOGETHER PROGRAM! EASY TO FOLLOW CHANGES AND OUTLINES OF CHANGES

November 24th, 2018
Thanks

November 23rd, 2018
It is amazing and easy to understand this teaching.

November 20th, 2018
Enjoyed the information, the mobile option is very handy. Thank you

November 20th, 2018
Great class!

November 20th, 2018
Very informative, take good notes.

November 18th, 2018
I learned a lot and I wasn't bored !

November 15th, 2018

November 14th, 2018

November 11th, 2018
Didn't have any problems while using this course and was easy to understand and use.

November 11th, 2018
Really good program, thanks. But Chuck should let his hair grow out. The PeeWee Herman look is out!

November 11th, 2018
Very informative and concise

November 10th, 2018
Thanks so much for this, great experience

November 7th, 2018
It was very informative and helpful

November 7th, 2018
Very informative, thanks!

November 6th, 2018
At your own pace was great thanks

November 4th, 2018
Very informational.

November 4th, 2018
I loved doing it at my pace and time thank you for that

October 30th, 2018

October 30th, 2018
This is only my second time of having to do a 16hr CE course and i have to say its been an awesome experience, the price was cheaper than the other sites i had looked into and the customer service was fantastic, and the way the course was presented was a far better match for me. I have already recommended this site to the electricians that i know.

October 30th, 2018
Very Easy to follow

October 28th, 2018
Very informative, and well produced

October 23rd, 2018
I though this course was great. I learned a lot more though this method of continuing ed vs in class.

October 17th, 2018
It was nice because I coulsd do it online.

October 14th, 2018
The course was great,had alot of good information

October 13th, 2018
Nope, Thanks for the course!!

October 13th, 2018
Easy to follow and understand

October 5th, 2018
Great course material and awesome that I can do this at my own pace.

September 30th, 2018
Great course. I will be back.

September 26th, 2018
Very well thought out and delivered course. I would recommend!

September 25th, 2018
Awesome!

September 23rd, 2018
Very user friendly. I would recommend it.

September 20th, 2018
The mobile friendly course is what made me decide to pick this for my continuing education. Thank you for the convenience of bringing it to mobile phones.

September 13th, 2018
Concise and informative

July 23rd, 2018
Very professional!

May 22nd, 2018
Very understandable and well done. Broken down to manageable time allotments.

January 31st, 2018
Very easy to follow and progress through

December 29th, 2017
Very in-depth and well designed

December 28th, 2017
Designed very well to get the user involved and to address all the new code changes

June 28th, 2017
Thank u I learned alot

May 25th, 2017
Overall great course

November 28th, 2018
This was Very informative and easy to follow

November 20th, 2018
I thoroughly it was very inciteful

November 17th, 2018
It was nice to go back to look things up

November 16th, 2018
It was very useful course

November 14th, 2018
It’s been a good review thank u

October 30th, 2018
Not today thanks.

October 27th, 2018
I liked the at your own pace it helped alot.

October 25th, 2018

October 11th, 2018

October 8th, 2018
Pretty straightforward. A ton of information.

September 17th, 2018

October 16th, 2017
Was a great course. More videos would have helped to keep focus but material was easy to navigate and thorough.

May 20th, 2017
good course.

November 1st, 2018
Would have given it five stars but I have to answer this mandatory questionnaire. Also I am having a hard time finding my license number because I am out of town and I can't move forward until I do. So I am waiting for my wife to get me my number. I usually have my card in my wallet but must have taken it out at some point.

October 14th, 2018
Too much repetitive information. Especially during the videos.

October 10th, 2018
A credit for grammatical corrections or typos should be given as there where enough to make it too time consuming to suggest them.

September 6th, 2018
EASY TO NAVIGATE

April 30th, 2017
this site needs lots of help. several of the questions asked came up as follows; the question was not finished, one of the multiple choice would include the missing part of the question and several accounts where the wrong answer was the correct answer.

December 15th, 2018

December 9th, 2018

December 8th, 2018

December 3rd, 2018

December 2nd, 2018

November 30th, 2018

November 30th, 2018

November 30th, 2018

November 30th, 2018

November 30th, 2018

November 29th, 2018

November 29th, 2018

November 29th, 2018

November 28th, 2018

November 28th, 2018

November 28th, 2018

November 28th, 2018

November 28th, 2018

November 28th, 2018

November 27th, 2018

November 27th, 2018

November 27th, 2018

November 27th, 2018

November 27th, 2018

November 26th, 2018

November 26th, 2018

November 26th, 2018

November 25th, 2018

November 25th, 2018

November 25th, 2018

November 25th, 2018

November 25th, 2018

November 24th, 2018

November 24th, 2018

November 24th, 2018

November 23rd, 2018

November 23rd, 2018

November 23rd, 2018

November 22nd, 2018

November 21st, 2018

November 21st, 2018

November 21st, 2018

November 21st, 2018

November 19th, 2018

November 19th, 2018

November 19th, 2018

November 19th, 2018

November 19th, 2018

November 18th, 2018

November 18th, 2018

November 18th, 2018

November 18th, 2018

November 18th, 2018

November 17th, 2018

November 17th, 2018

November 16th, 2018

November 16th, 2018

November 16th, 2018

November 15th, 2018

November 15th, 2018

November 15th, 2018

November 14th, 2018

November 12th, 2018

November 11th, 2018

November 11th, 2018

November 11th, 2018

November 10th, 2018

November 10th, 2018

November 8th, 2018

November 7th, 2018

November 5th, 2018

November 5th, 2018

November 2nd, 2018

October 31st, 2018

October 30th, 2018

October 30th, 2018

October 29th, 2018

October 28th, 2018

October 25th, 2018

October 25th, 2018

October 24th, 2018

October 23rd, 2018

October 21st, 2018

October 21st, 2018

October 20th, 2018

October 20th, 2018

October 20th, 2018

October 18th, 2018

October 18th, 2018

October 18th, 2018

October 17th, 2018

October 15th, 2018

October 14th, 2018

October 14th, 2018

October 13th, 2018

October 13th, 2018

October 12th, 2018

October 9th, 2018

October 7th, 2018

October 7th, 2018

October 6th, 2018

October 3rd, 2018

October 2nd, 2018

September 30th, 2018

September 27th, 2018

September 25th, 2018

September 23rd, 2018

September 22nd, 2018

September 20th, 2018

September 15th, 2018

September 14th, 2018

September 12th, 2018

September 10th, 2018

September 10th, 2018

September 6th, 2018

September 4th, 2018

August 30th, 2018

August 29th, 2018

August 29th, 2018

August 29th, 2018

August 6th, 2018

July 24th, 2018

June 18th, 2018

June 17th, 2018

April 23rd, 2018

March 18th, 2018

March 4th, 2018

March 1st, 2018

March 1st, 2018

February 27th, 2018

January 26th, 2018

January 11th, 2018

December 17th, 2017

November 23rd, 2017

October 9th, 2017

September 22nd, 2017

September 20th, 2017

August 31st, 2017

August 31st, 2017

August 5th, 2017

July 11th, 2017

December 12th, 2018

December 10th, 2018

November 30th, 2018

November 30th, 2018

November 29th, 2018

November 29th, 2018

November 28th, 2018

November 28th, 2018

November 28th, 2018

November 27th, 2018

November 27th, 2018

November 26th, 2018

November 26th, 2018

November 26th, 2018

November 25th, 2018

November 25th, 2018

November 24th, 2018

November 23rd, 2018

November 23rd, 2018

November 22nd, 2018

November 21st, 2018

November 20th, 2018

November 19th, 2018

November 19th, 2018

November 18th, 2018

November 17th, 2018

November 15th, 2018

November 15th, 2018

November 13th, 2018

November 12th, 2018

November 9th, 2018

November 8th, 2018

November 3rd, 2018

October 28th, 2018

October 27th, 2018

October 23rd, 2018

October 7th, 2018
Good

September 30th, 2018

September 17th, 2018

September 14th, 2018

September 7th, 2018

September 5th, 2018

August 3rd, 2018

July 31st, 2018

July 7th, 2018

July 5th, 2018

June 27th, 2018

June 13th, 2018

June 10th, 2018

April 15th, 2018

March 12th, 2018

January 28th, 2018

January 2nd, 2018

November 15th, 2017

December 2nd, 2018

November 28th, 2018

November 28th, 2018

November 27th, 2018

November 25th, 2018

November 25th, 2018

November 25th, 2018

October 21st, 2018

January 6th, 2018

July 20th, 2017

November 27th, 2018
N/A

November 22nd, 2018

November 30th, 2018