Written by Kacie Goff
As far as renewal goes, Utah plumbers have it fairly easy. You only have to renew your license every two years and doing so is a fairly straightforward process. Still, though, you don’t want to screw it up.
To help, we’ve built this guide. By the time you reach the end of it, you’ll have learned everything you need to know to renew your Utah plumber’s license.
Licenses for all Utah plumbers expire on November 30 of every evenly numbered year. Since we’re in 2020, you need to be ready to renew your license later this year.
That renewal date — and the process we’re about to outline — applies to:
Residential journeyman plumbers
Residential master plumbers
By late September or early October, the Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing (DPOL) will send you a renewal notice in the mail. You’re going to need that notice to renew (it has a renewal ID on it that you need to use during the process). If you haven’t received anything from DPOL by mid-October, reach out to them.
It’s important that you keep your address current with DPOL so they can send you your renewal notice and other relevant info. To update your address, log in to the DPOL eGov website. This is the same website many Utah plumbers used to initially apply for their licenses.
If you’ve never set up a profile with the site before, you’ll need to create a login first. Once you do, you’ll be able to update your address and request a duplicate license easily within the site.
If you want to, you can start your renewal process before you get your renewal notice. Before you can send in your renewal, you’re going to need to complete 12 hours of continuing education in order to comply with Utah Administrative Code R156-55c-304. Of those 12 hours, 8 need to be focused on core continuing education. The Code says core continuing education “is defined as education covering:
International Building, Mechanical, Plumbing, and International Energy Conservation Codes and Utah building code amendments as adopted or proposed for adoption
The Americans with Disability Act
Medical gas, National Fire Protection Association 13D and 54
Hydronics and wastewater treatment.”
The other four hours just need to qualify as professional education. But that doesn’t mean you can take them from any provider you choose. You can use this DPOL tool to look up approved continuing education providers. As you do, you’ll probably notice that some of them offer online education. Choose one of the DPOL-approved online continuing education providers and you’ll be able to take your hours online at your convenience.
Once your 12 hours are finished, your education provider reports the hours to the DPOL. After that, you’re ready to renew your license.
You do this online. Have your license number and your renewal notice handy. On your renewal notice, you’ll find the renewal ID to input to start the online renewal process. If you don’t have a renewal ID for some reason, you can request one here. Also, be ready to pay the renewal fee of $69.
Finish your renewal process — including your 12 hours of continuing education — before November 30 of every even-numbered year to keep your Utah plumber license active.