The Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing (DOPL) does a pretty good job of outlining what you need to do in order to renew your elevator mechanic license. They don’t specify the easiest way to knock out the to-dos, though, and there’s a pretty big difference between getting your continuing education (CE) in a stuffy classroom and doing it on your phone.
Utah elevator mechanic licenses expire on November 30 of every even-numbered year.
You should get a renewal notice in the mail about 60 days beforehand. To make sure you get it, keep your address updated with the DOPL. You can do that in their eGov system.
Because the renewal deadline falls right in the thick of the holiday season, a time of year that’s probably pretty busy for you, it can be helpful to get a jump on your renewal tasks. If you mark your calendar for early November and do your CE then, you’ll have plenty of time to get everything into the DOPL without feeling rushed.
Good news: you’re not looking at multiple workdays’ worth of hours to meet the DOPL’s continuing education requirements. They require you to get eight hours during each two-year renewal cycle.
Your hours need to be on what state code calls “approved continuing education,” which means they focus on:
Technically, you can take a course on the above from anywhere. But if you choose an education provider that isn’t already DOPL-approved, you’ll have to submit the course for approval and pay approval and attendance recording fees.
Long story short, it’s a lot easier to pick a DOPL-approved course. And it’s doubly easy if you choose a state-greenlit education provider that offers Utah elevator CE online, such as the courses here. That way, you can chip away at your hours from anywhere. You can even take the hours from your phone.
Once you finish your CE, your course provider gives you a certificate of completion. State law requires you to hang onto that for three years.
The education provider also reports your CE hours to the DOPL. That way, when you go to renew your license, it will check out as eligible for renewal.
Once you get your eight CE hours done, you can renew your Utah elevator license. You have two options here: you can mail in the form or do it online in the License Renewal System. To renew online, you’ll need a renewal ID. If you don’t have one, you can request it here.
If you go the mail route, include a check or money order made out to the DOPL with the renewal fee. If you complete your renewal application online, you can pay the fee there digitally. Either way, it costs $64 to renew a Utah elevator mechanic license.