Massachusetts CSL Continuing Education
Complete your continuing education to renew your MA CSL today. All of our courses can be completed At Your Pace Online to help you meet the state's requirements to maintain your license. Once you finish your class, we'll give you an official certificate of completion to save for your records.
Massachusetts 6 Hour Specialty CSL Renewal Course
This class offers six hours of instruction in the most recent building codes and practices required for Massachusetts Construction Supervisor Specialty License Renewals, with a special focus on Residential Building Codes. It fulfills two hours of required code review, one hour of required content on the Massachusetts Energy Code, and one hour of required content on best practices for construction businesses. The course also provides two hours of OSHA Safety Training, which comprises one hour of required content and one hour of elective content.
Massachusetts 6 Hour Construction Supervisor License CE
This 6 hour course is approved by the Massachusetts Board of Building Regulations and Standards, BBRS, and is designed for Construction Supervisor licensees to meet 6 hours of your renewal continuing education requirements.
This course includes:
- MA Building Code Review (2 hrs)
- Construction Safety (2 hrs)
- 2018 International Energy Conservation Code (1 hr)
- Masonry (1 hr)
Massachusetts 2 Hour Lead Safe Practices
This class offers two hours of instruction in lead-safe renovation practices for Massachusetts Construction Supervisor Licensees. It fulfills the one hour of required training in this topic during the first renewal cycle and one hour of elective content or two hours of elective content if not in the first renewal cycle.
Massachusetts 2 Hour Building Code Review
This course provides the Massachusetts contractor with 2 hours of credit toward renewing their Construction Supervisor License. In the course, we focus on the state amendments to the 2015 International Building Code, as adopted in the 9th edition of the Massachusetts State Building Code, Base Volume. Once you're finished with this course, you'll be 2 credit hours closer to renewing your license, all at your own pace!
Continuing Education Requirements to Renew a MA Construction Supervisor License
If you’re a construction supervisor licensee in the state of Massachusetts, during each two-year renewal cycle you know that you need a certain number of continuing education hours.
A lot changed throughout 2020, due largely to the pandemic. Now, a lot of CSLs might be wondering where, exactly, their CE requirements stand. Here are the most current continuing education requirements for licensed Massachusetts construction supervisors.
Hours required by license type
Fortunately, you don’t need a huge number of CE hours during each renewal cycle, even if you have an unrestricted license. Here are the current requirements:
- 12 hours
Construction supervisor restricted to one and two-family dwellings:
- 10 hours
Speciality construction supervisor (e.g., licensed in masonry or insulation):
- 6 hours
Beyond that, your hours need to cover specific topics. Per Section R5.4.2, you need:
- 4 hours of code review for unrestricted and restricted CS licenses, 2 hours of code review for specialty CSLs
- 1 hour on workplace safety
- 1 hour on business practices and workers’ compensation
- 1 hour on energy (unless you have a demolition specialty license)
If it’s your first renewal cycle, you also need one hour on lead safe practices.
If you have any remaining hours left over, you can take them in any approved elective. The best way to make sure your elective hours will count toward your renewal is to find a CE provider that’s approved by the state.
Do those requirements look familiar? If so, it’s because they haven’t changed. While the Massachusetts Board of Building Regulations & Standards adjusted how licensees could get their hours during the pandemic, they didn’t change the total number of hours required.
In-person vs. online requirements
Clearly, some things did shift for licensees as they renewed throughout 2020 and 2021. Specifically, the state expanded their online CE hours approval.
For a while you could take all of your required Massachusetts CSL CE online. That’s because the COVID-induced state of emergency expired on June 15, 2021, but the state extended a 90-day grace period allowing licensees to complete their CE digitally through mid-September of 2021.
However, that extension date has passed and now there’s a cap on how many hours you can take online. Currently, licensees max out at six hours of online CE. So if you’re a specialty CSL, you’re good and can still knock out your CE digitally. But if you have a restricted CSL license, you’ll need to take four hours in-person. And if you have an unrestricted license, you’ll need to get half of your hours in a classroom.
Still, though, taking what CE you can online can make meeting your renewal requirement a little easier and more convenient for you.