Written by Kacie Goff
If you have an elevator constructor license or registration through the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI), you’re probably aware that you need to do certain things, like take continuing education (CE), to keep yourself active in their system. But because requirements vary by license type, it’s important that you know precisely what’s necessary to maintain compliance with the DLI.
Don’t sweat. With this guide, you can learn the specific continuing education requirements and other to-dos to keep different types of Minnesota elevator constructor licenses or registrations active.
One of the biggest hurdles in keeping your elevator license current is getting the CE hours you need. We’ve got two pieces of good news here. First, the exact requirements for your license type are outlined below.
Secondly, the DLI has approved some education providers to offer elevator CE online such as the trainings you see here. When you take your hours online and on-demand, you can do them from anywhere (even your couch) whenever you’ve got free time.
The trick is to find a CE provider that’s state-approved. You can scroll to the bottom of this page to see our DLI approval letters to give you an idea of what to look for.
Now, let’s look at the hours required for your specific license type:
You need 16 hours of CE broken down as follows:
You also need 16 hours of CE on the same topics as master licensees:
As a limited licensee, your CE requirement gets halved. You need eight hours as follows:
Beyond getting your CE done, you just need to make sure you get your renewal paperwork and fee submitted on time. Here’s a quick recap of the renewal timelines for different Minnesota elevator license and registration types:
If you have a master or journeyman license, you can either mail in the renewal form or do it online. Make sure you have your CE done before you send in your renewal form or you could get your license suspended and face a $1,000 fine.
Whichever route you choose, make sure you pay the appropriate renewal fee. It’s:
Knock out your CE, submit your renewal on time, and pay the fee and you should have no trouble keeping your license or registration active with the DLI.