Miami Dade 8 Hour Contractor: Codes & Best Business Practices
- 8 Hour Course
- 5.0 13 Reviews
Every 2 years, contractors who hold Certificates of Competency in Miami-Dade County are required to complete 16 hours of continuing education to renew their licenses. This required continuing education training must include one hour on the Miami-Dade Ordinance Chapter 10 and one hour on the Construction Lien Law (F.S. 713).
This eight hour course (course ID D115-001) has been approved by the Miami-Dade CTQB to meet half of your CE requirements.
The first hour of this course addresses Chapter 10 of the Code of Miami-Dade County and the procedures for bidding for a public construction project.
The second hour examines the provisions of the state's Construction Lien Law.
In the third hour, the course discusses wind mitigation and regulation of wind mitigation efforts.
The next three hours of content look at safety on construction sites.
Then, an hour of the content will be focused on workers' compensation.
The final hour of the course addresses updates to the Florida residential building codes.
Show Course ID: 0
- Approved By: Miami-Dade Construction Trades Qualifying Board
Mike Melvin, owner of At Your Pace Online, LLC, is the instructor and industry expert for many of our courses. In addition to his Bachelor of Arts Degree in Business Administration from Ottawa University, Kansas, Mike has owned, operated, and worked for numerous construction companies. Mike's relevant construction experience includes framing, concrete construction, foundations, and roofing. As the current owner and an approved lead instructor for At Your Pace Online, he teaches multiple courses pertaining to construction and business. With over fifteen years of experience in the industry, Mike combines his proven understanding of teaching online education with the practical and academic industry knowledge needed by our students, to allow them to complete their courses and get back to the job site.